Fluffy Baby Blanket

So my current WIP (work in progress) is a baby blanket for a colleague. I’ve been using the delightful Tutti Frutti from Sirdar’s Snuggly range. Sirdar is one of my favourite yarn brands and I’ve been wanting to use one of those chenille-type yarns for ages so it ticked all the boxes!

I’ve got the Dolly Mixture colourway which is a white base speckled with multi-coloured flecks. It is wonderfully soft and is if anything softer once it is crocheted up. A major complaint is that it is near impossible to work with at first. The yarn is so fluffy that you can’t see where to put your hook as you work! The tag recommends a 5mm needle/hook which I tried at first but eventually had to move up to a 10mm hook just to be able to get enough space in each stitch to actually be able to see where the hook needed to go. You get the hang of it after a while as you can judge by placement and feel where each stitch is but you have to concentrate quite hard while you’re working.

IMG_2604
It also sheds everywhere! So messy…

It is of course completely worth it as the blanket is coming up lovely! I will probably wait quite a while before I work with such a fluffy yarn again…

What are you working on at the moment?

3 comments

Leave a comment